Porsche #2 wins Silverstone 6hrs as #7 Audi is Excluded
Ferrari dominates GTE

If the podium was anything to go by then it was a hard earned victory for the #7 Audi R18 of the Audi Sport Team Joest trio of André Lotterer (DEU), Marcel Fässler (SUI) and Benoit Tréluyer (FRA), however the celebrations were short lived after the #7 car had worn it’s front skid block down excessively, something which Audi would later blame on ‘bouncing’.

This meant that the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid which was driven by Romain Dumas (FRA), Neel Jani (SUI) and Marc Lieb (DEU) took the overall win despite colliding with the #67 Ford GT after the Abbey Chicane, leaving a splattering of mud along the sides of the eventual winner.

Previously the #7 Audi had fought off not only the #2 Porsche, but also the #1 Porsche of Mark Webber (AUS), Brendan Hartley (NZL) and Marc Lieb (DEU) who’s challenge ended spectacularly in a dramatic shunt triggered by an ill-judged move whilst overtaking the #86 Gulf Racing Porsche 911 RSR of Michael Wainwright (GBR), Adam Carrol (GBR) and Benjamin Barker (GBR) who were competing in the LMGTE AM class.

It was also a double-DNF for Audi as the #8 car of Lucas di Grassi (BRA), Loic Duval (FRA) and Oliver Jarvis (GBR) retired earlier on with a hybrid system failure, this meant that the #6 Toyota Gazoo Racing TS050 of Stéphane Sarrazin (FRA), Mike Conway (GBR) and Kamui Kobayashi (JAP) was elevated to second overall despite struggling for pace most of the weekend, while the #13 LMP1 privateer winning Rebellion Racing car claimed third overall with Alexandre Imperatori (SUI), Dominik Kraihamer (AUT) and Mathéo Tuscher (SUI) at the helm.

In LMP2 the RGR Sport by Morand Ligier claimed a win on debut with Bruno Senna (BRA), Filipe Albuquerque (POR) and Ricardo Gonzalez (MEX) at the wheel, ahead of the 2016 Daytona 24hrs winner Pipo Derani (BRA) accompanied by Ryan Dalziel (GBR) and Chris Cumming (CAN) in the Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P2 coming home second while defending LMP2 champion Roman Rusinov (RUS) finished third for G-Drive Racing with Nathanaël Berthon (FRA) and Rene Rast (DEU).

Both GTE Pro and Am were dominated by Ferrari as Sam Bird (GBR) and Davide Rigon (ITA) pretty much lead the Pro class from lights to flag in AF Corse’s brand new #71 Ferrari 488 whilst team mates James Calado (GBR) and Giamaria Bruni (ITA) in the #51 sister car fought back to second place after a 3-minute engine change penalty. The #83 458 Italia of Françios Perrodo (FRA), Emmanuel Collard (FRA) and Rui Agua (POR) won the GTE Am class.

Article by Rajan Jangda / AdrenelMedia

#2 Porsche 919 Hybrid – Romain Dumas (FRA), Neel Jani (SUI) and Marc Lieb (DEU).

#43 RGR Sport by Morand – Bruno Senna (BRA), Filipe Albuquerque (POR) and Ricardo Gonzalez (MEX).

#71 AF Corse (Ferrari 488 GTE) – Sam Bird (GBR) and Davide Rigon (ITA).

Photos © Rajan Jangda

Copyright © 2007-2017 - EnduranceRacing.co.uk | ChequeredFlagMedia, all rights reserved